Music top 100 #98

La Isla Bonita

Once or twice a week, I will be posting songs counting down from #100 to #1. This is not meant to be a rating. It’s just a list of songs that have personal memories associated with them.

In the late 1980s, my mom’s colleague brought us a VHS cassette with a collection of songs that he had taped in his hotel room in  Switzerland. It was the first time that I came upon artists such as Madonna, George Michael, Michael Jackson and The Bee Gees etc. I must have been 8 or 9 years old.

Cable/satellite television had not reached us. This VHS cassette would be my only source of worthwhile music for the next five years. I played it on my Akai Bush VHS player.

Leave a Reply

