Old City Bikaner in Rajasthan, India.

Old City Bikaner in Rajasthan, India

I don’t know why I haven’t been to Rajasthan more often that I have. Recently, I spent a week trotting through the Thar Desert at the back of a camel. I came upon beautifully preserved villages that are home to hundreds of peacocks & peahens and old cities such as this one full of unique sights, sounds & smell of the mystic east.

In the weeks to come, I’ll bring you more of this. And of course, the complete report of my camel safari through the Thar Desert in the northern state of Rajasthan in India.

Marilyn Terrell, the chief researcher of National Geographic Traveler magazine re-tweeted this photograph of mine calling it timeless and fascinating.

FIN

Oh, I must tell you that I made this using the Monochrome mode (plus the digital Orange filter) on a Canon DSLR camera. My days of film photography are slowly but surely coming to an end.

9 thoughts on “Old City Bikaner in Rajasthan, India.

  1. Timeless indeed! The monochrome brings the heart of the scene right to the forefront where one can imagine the colours, the spicy smells mingling with the goat and bovine aromas as well as the family meeting. A wondrous shot bringing back those delightful things that I also experienced on that wonderful trip.

Leave a Reply

