“It’s a Xylophone!”

dam square amsterdam

This one’s another character study from Dam Square in Amsterdam.

I came upon this man playing an instrument along Dam Square in Amsterdam. I didn’t really figure any of the music but the musician is a delightful man. The sounds of extended ‘tings’ and ‘tangs’ coming off his instrument flooded the crowded square that fine afternoon.

“It’s a Xylophone!” he said. I’d asked.

I guess I’d never seen a xylophone before.

I had access to an h4n zoom recorder. And at times, I even used it. In the days to come, I will be enriching my blog with sounds bytes. Here’s a start; a sound clip of the music that he’s playing.

FIN

14 thoughts on ““It’s a Xylophone!”

  1. Pingback: Prague; sound bytes and travel advice | fables by an urban lad from bombay.

  2. Pingback: Top 10 travel memories of 2011. | fables by an urban lad from bombay.

  3. Ah, how cool! There was one in Nottingham for maaannnyyy years. He was great. Sadly he passed away but everyone remembers his joy.

Leave a Reply

