Of Snakes and Sausages

On a winter afternoon, Rahul Alvares, Anne Ketteringham and I did a boat trip in sunny Goa through the backwaters of the River Mandovi. Amidst the narrow canals and mangroves that are rich in bird life, the motor gave way.

The lightweight paddles helped us maneuver the boat through the canals and down the main stream. And the sausages nourished us through the long journey back. We escaped by the skin of our teeth!

Now that’s not what actually happened. In fact, the motor didn’t work too well right from the onset. And its health deteriorated further along our journey. Whilst it lacked the power to force us through, it never gave way completely. Our motorman managed to steer us back to Casa Britona – a fantastic boutique hotel along the banks of the Mandovi.

A view of the mangroves along R. Mandovi seen from the upper deck of Casa Britona. Shot with a Canon 50D camera and a Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 lens.

Rahul drove us back to Assagao from Britona.

“I’ll be right back”, Rahul hopped out of the driver’s seat. He was back in a minute. “Here – keep this sac at the back next to you.”

“What’s in it?”

“Snakes!”

Rahul has hands-on experience in handling snakes. He is famous.

Anne Ketteringham got a picture of me whilst I was loading film into my Yashica Mat using her Pentax camera and Sigma lens.

  _  BE HAPPY!

53 thoughts on “Of Snakes and Sausages

    • One snake was inside a plastic bottle having small holes. It had three or four eggs in it as well. The other one was in a jute sac. Rahul would have released them into the wild a few days hence. He’s the expert.
      Thanks, Pamela.

    • Yes, they were poisonous.
      I have pictures of the Kingfishers and other birds. I’ll be publishing an e-book soon. It’ll have pictures of 99 species of birds that I have photographed.

  1. Too bad Nurse Myra would not have been around to heal your potential snake bite wounds. She is downunder in Oz where I too reside in this great nation of ours, home to about seven of the world’s ten most venemous snakes.

    I was in Goa last year and I wish to go(a) again soon …

  2. Your pictures are all stunning, each containing a story ready to be told. How funny that you stopped in and saw my lame (though lovely!) little bird. So, is your bird book going to be in black and white? I bet it will be fabulous!

    • I took to birding as recently as November last. No that’s not in black and white. In fact, I’m using a mirror lens.
      Thanks, LeAnn.

  3. I am looking forward to the bird book as well! I love your photography!

    I would love to be able to travel to places like this someday. Maybe once I become independently wealthy. 🙂

  4. Wonderful photos and story.. despite the element of danger. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I’m quite glad that I’ve found yours in return.

  5. Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment on my blog today. When I know other people are out there cheering me on, I feel like I can really start doing some of those things (as trivial as some of them are!)

    Your photography is beautiful, in style and subject. The latest, with Snakes and Sausages…great writing! I’m intrigued and can’t wait to follow for more.

  6. Your photographs turned out really well. I love the reflections in the still waters and the one showing the blurred foliage in the foreground. It reminds me of when we drifted into the bushes and trees when the motor failed as it constantly seemed to. A great trip and adventure but I did have some concerns as to whether we would get safely back to the mainland without paddling at one stage. Great photos and a well told story. Spot on!

  7. I enjoyed going along for the adventure. Your pictures and commentary took me to a place I’ve never visited in person and embued the trip with the feel of reality. Thanks!

    KB

  8. Pingback: Assorted birds from Baga, Succor Plateau and Britona in Goa photographed using a Mirror Lens « bird photography with a mirror lens

Leave a Reply

