And the chronicles begin

cover

I bought a Yashica Mat TLR camera having a Yashinon 80mm viewing lens +Yashinon 80mm 3.5 taking lens last evening, the 30th of September, 2009.

I found a manual online.

I’d have blasted a dozen rolls by now except that 120mm film is completely out of stock.

The Yashica Mat isn’t equipped with an in-built light meter. So it’ll take me a roll or two to get the hang of it. If the camera functions as it must, these could be exciting times ahead.

FIN

12 thoughts on “And the chronicles begin

  1. I don’t know much about the mechanics of photography but I worked out that your fabulous camera is Japanese, but just because it is Japanese that does not mean it eats sushi.

    • lol. I guess it doesn’t. but I’ve used it to photograph plenty of fish, prawns, lobsters and fisher folk already.
      those posts are coming up soon.

  2. Wow your cam looks GREAT! I have a Canon EOS 1000D already & I would love to buy some vintage cams, except that will mean a lot of trouble & expense with getting the film, developing etc. My mom has convinced me to buy lenses for my camera instead.

    • In a recent post, I wrote about the fact that I shall consider using more of my digital camera. I’m not so sure though. I use it for my professional assignments all the time. Black and white is different though.
      And if you’re buying new lenses, make sure they’re prime!
      Good Luck!

  3. Pingback: The Zone System in Black and White Photography « fables by an urban lad from bombay.

  4. Pingback: Untitled | The world of travel photography

Leave a Reply

