b &w

In this day and age, I can recommend only the one professional film lab that processes black and white film in Bombay – Studio Mull Herr. It wasn’t the case five years ago. I had options. 4 or 5 of them. I’d use Mazda most oft.

A bunch of juveniles engage in outdoor sports whilst high tide during the monsoons at Juhu Beach in Bombay. 2009 brought the tallest tides in over one hundred years.

Contact prints are expensive &indecisive. I prefer low resolution scans instead. I can then check focus, composition etc. &get the better frames scanned at a high resolution thereafter.

Studio Mull Herr’s best deal is Rs. 400 for 36 exposures at a resolution of 4 x 6 inches at 300 dpi. Instead, I get this preliminary scan done from Mazda. Mazda charge Rs. 100 for the 36 exposures at 72 dpi.

FIN

18 thoughts on “b &w

  1. This looks like my kitchen after I’ve been ‘cooking’ – everyone appears in a haze of smoke.

    Beautiful pictures. You’re very talented – and thank you for visiting my blog!

  2. A truly beautiful shot. It’s full of atmosphere and because you can’t see exactly what’s going on (although you’ve told us now :)) it has a great air of mystery. I’m really looking forward to seeing more of your work. Congratulations.

  3. I really like the Black and White photography. My dad used to take a lot of black and white photos (I think he had a Yashika camera at the time) in the late sixties and early seventies when we used to live in Bombay. Some of these photos remind me of those.

Leave a Reply

